Eugene Wrayburn wrote: ↑Mon Jul 28, 2025 1:25 am
Puja wrote: ↑Mon Jul 28, 2025 12:11 am
Eugene Wrayburn wrote: ↑Sun Jul 27, 2025 11:44 pm
This. It happens literally once a match without complaint. Same as Jac Morgan's clearout (though that would be significantly more than once a match).
I think the difference is that on the wing, you're diving to get to the line faster, whereas Sheehan's dive was to go over the top of a tackler in front of him.
Puja
Or you're diving to avoid the cover defence. Just as Sheehan did. It's not faster to dive. Which is why sprinters don't dive for the line.
If you're running without stopping, then sure. If you're going for a spot on the ground, then diving is very definitely quicker - that's why cricketers dive when they're close to being run out.
Which Tyler wrote: ↑Mon Jul 28, 2025 8:13 am
Generally though, I'm with Adam & EW -
if you dive, and score a try, then you're diving in the act of scoring.
I don't like it, as I think that for a head-on tackle, it's dangerous; but I'm not sure I would want to be the one clarifying a law that says "head-on then dangerous play, side on then all is good" and I certainly wouldn't want to ban wingers diving in at the corner.
I would say my objection is that it shouldn't be "diving in the act of scoring a try" but "diving to score a try". He has clearly deliberately hurdled a tackler there and the fact that his hurdle has ended with the ball being grounded should not be a special exception. It should be the same down the wing - if you're diving to get the ball down, that's one thing, but if you're leaping up and over a defender (a la Jonny May) then it should be a penalty.
Just looked up the IRB's clarification on the issue in 2022 and it would seem to agree with me: "In principle, in a try scoring situation, if the action is deemed to be a dive forward for a try, then it should be permitted. If a player is deemed to have left the ground to avoid a tackle; or to jump, or hurdle a potential tackler, then this is dangerous play and should be sanctioned accordingly.”
Interesting analysis of it here:
https://www.planetrugby.com/news/law-di ... right-call which does end up with the very pertinent point of, "While this was an incredibly tight call, one has to remember law 6.5a, which states: “The referee is the sole judge of fact and of law during a match.""
I think there should be more clarification on the law by the IRB though, cause I can see why Piardi gave the try based on those criteria, even though I wouldn't've (and, had I been the ref (heavens forfend), I would've given a penalty try for the Australian blatant offside that led to the tap penalty, so it would've been moot). It seems like ambiguity in the laws that Erasmus would be looking at and licking his lips - fully expect to see him pull out something stupid like a lock assisting a scrumhalf's "dive for the line" if it's not nailed down.
Puja